Life Lessons . . . Sarcopenia


I’ve been absent from blogging for about a month. We went to Germany for vacation. Upon returning home it took a week to adjust, as usual. We had multiple appointments and the kids started school. I mention all this not as an excuse but because it has helped me to learn a life lesson. The kind of life lesson that you embrace in your head (because you teach it to others) but have never truly embraced in your heart, as a way of life.

In Germany we walked an average of 8 miles a day, touring the cities and towns. For the first few days I was stiff and sore ~ yoga (und bier) helped. My knee (plagued with 30 years of patellofemoral tracking issues) was killing me for a day or so. By the third or fourth day I woke feeling young, strong, vibrant ~ 18 years old again!! No achy joints, no struggling to get up from a chair, no jolting of my frame when running across the street!

 The life lesson I learned in Germany. . .

 . . . Exercise Keeps You Young.

 Related to this topic is Sarcopenia or muscle loss that occurs with aging. In our 30’s we begin to lose muscle mass and thus muscle function, which equates to strength and coordination. Those of us who are physically inactive (think desk job or long commutes)  can lose as much as 3-5% per decade in our 30’s and 40’s, 10-20% in our 50’s and up to 30% in our 60’s.  Another life lesson . . . Use it or Lose it!

 The treatment for Sarcopenia? Resistance Training! Unsure of where to start? Development of a strength training program is easily done by your Physical Therapist. He or she will help you select the best exercises and dose them based on scientific evidence, identify your movement patterns and teach you correct form to decrease your risk of injury.

 Final Life Lesson for today . . .

. . . Practice What You Preach!

As for me, I am putting these lessons into practice by

  • Committing to walk my dog at least 1 mile daily.

  • Doing at least 15 minutes of yoga daily save for my hour session once a week.

  • Doing Pilates once a week.

  • Creating a plan to incorporate consistent strength training.

I invite you to join me.

Be Well!  Roxi

Leave a Reply

